Standard

Here is a great post by Abegaiil Morley. She has asked lots of poets to recommend their favourite reads of the year – I’ve already got my reading list for 2013 sorted from this. Wish I’d thought of this idea!

The Poetry Shed

poetry bookshelf

Top titles for me….

 
Sharon Olds – One Secret Thing (Cape): I love this book for its wisdom. In the hands of a lesser poet, it could have been vindictive or bitter. It is not a comfortable read, but is well worth it.

John Burnside – Black Cat Bone: (Cape) After reading this, I’ve hunted down more of his poetry. Love its mystery and musicality.

Carola Luther – Herd: (The Wordsworth Trust) Carola was the Poet-in-Residence at the Wordsworth Trust last year. I’ve always loved her work, but really enjoyed the new direction that she takes in this pamphlet.

Ian Parks – The Cavafy Varations: (Rack Press) Cavafy is one of my favourite poets and I think Ian has done a great job with his variations. Would have been quite happy if the pamphlet was twice the length, which is always a good sign!

Kim Moore

Poetry

View original post 3,125 more words

Leave a Reply

